{Post Industrial Media} Project 3–Sketch 3

This sketch was made entirely on a mobile phone. The video was originally made about 10 years ago on some sort of motorola phone. It was something I made with friends as a joke about a friend and his dog. All the photos, video and effects were done on the mobile. I did edit the sound out on my youtube app as the sounds were very strange and distracting from the point of the video. While this video was filmed in a different context years ago. I really feel as it is a perfect example of how a mobile phone affords memories. My first thought when stumbling upon this video was, “Wow, what a great memory.” 10 years ago, even with limited editing options, I was able to capture this silly idea that my friends and I had. If I didn’t have a mobile phone 10 years ago, this video would not exist as my only option to make a film like this would be to film it with a video camera and then edit it on my computer. This simply wouldn’t have happened. Although the intention of this video was to make fun of my friend, it’s today given me the memory of that moment in my life that I had forgotten about. It has caused me to reach out to those friends that were involved with the video and reconnect. As a result of the mobile phone, that memory doesn’t disappear into the depths of my brain. In some cases, memories not disappearing can be a bad thing, but in this case, it brings old friends together.

Leave a comment

Filed under PIM

Leave a comment